StoryHunterBlog

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

The magic of Storytelling

205332_10151101629545917_1329987585_nThere have been many discussions about the objectivity of storytelling techniques in social research as in other disciplines. This is nothing unusual in academia, as we all know; we could spend centuries in arguing and defending methodology issues, and more if we want to argue the objectivity and accuracy in social sciences. However, there is also a great motivation for researching more and strengthening your argument. And I found really persuasive the description of biographical stories by Mccormack (2001) as a process that explores individuals’ understandings of their experience in the context of their everyday lives while simultaneously looking to the wider social/cultural resources on which people draw to help them make sense of their lives (220).

There are psychological and psychosocial versions in storytelling, as how I perceived myself and how I think others perceived me. It might be really humanist of my part to always understand that we are presenting ourselves consciously or unconsciously in every action and every word we say.  But, then we argue we don’t want attention but in fact we are always asking for it. And the most amazing thing is that attention is not such a bad thing. I might talk from my own experiences and also from others, and of course this is only about emotions so there is not generalisation so far in here. But, there is a need of finding in somehow a warmth consideration of what we perceived we might be struggling with.

Storytelling is really simpler than I am describing it. It is only about the feelings at describing myself, my world and those who are around me. It is in this way how Storytelling became such a magic way for me of gathering some many issues and liberating fears as well.

I want to share this talk because it really gets you deep inside and honestly makes you feel, goodness! we are all the same, humans.

I chose to present this discourse of vulnerability because it is a significant point for starting to talk about ourselves, the fear of being weak. And it is really stopping people to share their stories or maybe changing them. However, either way says lots to us and there is none better to analyse you than yourself. The time of speaking up and getting support is already here. But how ready are we?

If you want to share a story, support group or share your version. Or if you want to know what supporting group I could recommend you, please don’t hesitate to contact me.

There is nothing more amazing than hearing peoples’ stories, it catches you, liberates you and also connects you.

Mccormack, C. (2001) Storying stories: a narrative approach to in-depth interview conversations. International Journal of Social Research Methodology, 7(3), p. 219-236.
Leave a Reply

